Novalis and the Blue Flower

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
Creativity & The Divine

The artistic experience, at its highest, was actually a natural analogue of mystical experience. It produced a kind of intuitive perception.
– Thomas Merton

I experienced this in some small way today.

I was getting frustrated with the ‘business’ of blogging- all those fussy details of tagging and linking and dofollow and nofollow and spamming and dashboards and on and on. I was not excited to come to the keyboard this evening. Maybe I even threw a small tantrum- but I’ll never admit it.

And then the wise one in this house took me by the hand and asked me if I enjoy blogging. “Well, no” I responded in the midst of the tantrum I won’t admit to.

So he asked me again if I enjoy the writing, the focus on creating, the mindset it gives me to take into my days, the excitement of new ideas and thoughts to consider with others.

I took a deep breath, hung my head low, and conceded with a nod.

I then sat with my notebook and let myself go to that place of perception, depth, longing, and vulnerability. And I found it- I found the ‘why I do this’.

That place from which creativity flows is, in some way I don’t understand, linked to that Other place. When I create, the physical realm, the world of understanding, melt away and I am enveloped in a world of underlying truth, of knowing beyond knowing, of connecting most profoundly. It defies explanation and is deeper than mere experience.

When we touch this realm, we touch a World we were meant to live in.

_______________________________________

Today’s 4 Minute Writer      

Zoe

Zoe: Life. Not life as the business of living, but Life, truly living. The depth, the longing to be entirely immersed in the other Place, the other Life. To be where I am fully opened and fully filled.

Complete vulnerability falls into the gaping cavern of Wholeness.

Novalis’s Blue Flower is found.

 

Use the comment field to suggest a topic, submit your writing on today’s 4 Minute Writer topic (Zoe) or to comment

Image source

8 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

8 responses to “Novalis and the Blue Flower

  1. The fiddly bits of blogging have been causing me to stay away from the keyboard too. But you are so right that it helps to focus on the writing, which is for me, the really fun part.

    • How is it that it is so easy to lose focus of why we do what we do? It helps to know that others have the same passions and helps me keep on track- thank you!
      I find the fiddly bits of blogging cause me to stay awake for too long into the night!

  2. Beautiful, Zoe, and very moving. Writing every day is a rigorous discipline, but like you, it is almost where I can become most myself.

    Sure you have come across Kolb and his cycle: learn something, reflect on it, draw conclusions, plough conclusions into next learning. I think these daily posts draw us into reflection which cause us to learn incredibly fast: it is exhausting but I find it exhilarating. That term, the Zone? Words are what we were made for, and each day when we sit in front of a blank screen, we must dive into a vast waterfall and trust that our subconscious will take us where we want to go.

    You really rode that waterfall today:-)

    • “Where I can become most myself”- just the right way to describe writing. Sometimes I’m intimidated by how much of my inner self comes out and into the world through these posts. Scary. But, what’s the option, keep yourself to yourself and never truly living in the world? I’d rather ride the waterfall in the blogosphere.

  3. Wow, the ‘why I do this’ moment. I can really relate to that. Thanks for the perspective.

  4. Thats really a nice article.

    That said – just one little think: The picture source is completely wrong. ;)

    The original source:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/peter_heilmann/2865062567/

    It would be much appreciated if you could change it as the Google search for “blue flower” lists this article on first place.

Leave a Reply

