Releasing Your Creative Work

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
The Creative Process

“Finishing a book is just like you took a child out in the back yard and shot it.”
-Truman Capote

Intense words from an intense writer.

A good writer builds an intimate relationship with his work. Characters run through his thoughts all day long, while plot twists and dialogue haunt him in his sleep. His work is like a child he breathes life into and then forms and nurtures. This child depends solely and completely on him. And when the moment comes to write ‘The End’, the author terminates the relationship and ends the development of the child, cutting it off from its life-supply, the author.

Or so expressed Mr. Capote.

We can look differently at the end of the final phase of the creative process, when one proclaims a work finished. This phase can be seen to mark the handing off of the child to others to be raised in their imaginations, inspiring them to see the world in a new light, or to spark their own creative work.

Sharing your child- any work you have breathed life into- with the world actually releases it to grow into adulthood. Don’t stunt your child’s growth, share it with others- it’s the only way to give it life beyond yourself.

 _______________________________________

Today’s 4 Minute Writer      

Old Glory

I worked on that car all summer, tried to restore her to her old glory when she was the hottest thing on the block. Grandpa told me she was the first of her kind in town and was the envy of the neighbourhood. He and Grandma were the Joneses everyone tried to keep up with.

I poured my heart into that car- spent nearly every spare dime I had on parts, tools, finish. I did the best I could, but the money ran out and life’s demands got in the way.

And now she sits there, in the garage. ‘A wreck that won’t run’ some would call her. But not me. I know I’ll keep tinkering away at that beauty until someday she’s the hottest thing on the block again, and my son will be proud to take her out on the town.

Use the comment field to suggest a topic, submit your writing on today’s 4 Minute Writer topic (Old Glory) or to comment.


6 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

6 responses to “Releasing Your Creative Work

  1. I’m really enjoying your posts and perspectives. I enjoy getting your latest post in my inbox on a regular basis.

  2. I guess you and I do that on a regular basis, don’t we? But I’m nearing 100 posts, and consequently 100,000 words, and releasing it is becoming imminent. Soon my work will have to be sent off to see if I could make a living writing. Your post comes at such a key moment for me. Thanks for your words. They invariably hit home:-)

    • Put me down for a pre-order of your book! Making a living writing what you want to write, in the style that speaks who you are- I can see that for you.
      You are going to continue with your blog aren’t you? (I’m looking for a “yes” as an answer here…)

Leave a Reply

