The Happiness of The Divine

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
Creativity & The Divine

We, in our Western culture, are obsessed with our own individual happiness. Oprah reinforces it, best-selling books like The Happiness Project reinforce it, as do films like Eat, Pray, Love. Perhaps it’s a backlash against the over-emphasis previous generations placed on duty at the expense of happiness.

We chase after happiness in a miriad of ways- relationships, vacations, good times, spirituality, hobbies, lotteries. We find it, lose it, chase it, then find it again in a continuing loop through the years.

In a post earlier this week, I talked of how, to me, that place from which creativity flows is somehow linked to that Other place, that world of underlying truth, a connection with The Divine. It makes me happy, you could say, to visit that place through creative acts like writing.

And then I think, what if I turned the point around: does my act of creating, which causes me happiness, cause The Divine happiness as well? Woa. I feel so inadequate to even ask the question.

But then I think of Eric Liddell, the 1924 gold medal Olympian portrayed in the 1981 film Chariots of Fire. He was passionate about running, and at one point stated, “I believe that God made me for a purpose. But He also made me fast, and when I run, I feel His pleasure.” Woa. What a bold statement. He felt that something he did and was passionate about gave God pleasure. Could something I create and am passionate about give The Divine pleasure? I feel uncomfortable even thinking about it.

Some will feel uncomfortable just thinking about The Divine, never mind how The Divine thinks of our creative endeavours.

Ultimately, it’s about having a view larger than our own happiness and even than that of those around us. Why not take a moment to wonder- it may even spark a bit of happiness in you along the way…

Image source

  _______________________________________

Today’s 4 Minute Writer      

Sara Bareilles

Linda posted this Sara Bareilles video today. I liked it so much that I thought I’d repost it here. Enjoy!

Use the comment field to suggest a topic, submit your writing on today’s 4 Minute Writer topic (Sara Bareilles) or to comment.

8 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

8 responses to “The Happiness of The Divine

  1. Your writing flows like a river. I think people seek happiness because there is so little of it in their lives. Without a relationship with our Creator, pleasure is a fleeting butterfly. Thank you for stopping by my blog. I will visit yours again. Blessings to you…

    • Thanks for the comment, Carol. I’m thinking about what you said: “Without a relationship with our Creator, pleasure is a fleeting butterfly.” Do you mean that people who have a relationship/connection to the Creator are happier than people who don’t find this to be important? I suppose, then, that it depends how you define happiness… Good things to ponder.

      • Right on both counts. Yes, I believe a relationship with our Creator is a blessing that brings peace and happiness, and yes, it does depend on how one defines happiness. Good things to ponder.

      • It only makes sense, doesn’t it. I do believe in God and have for so long that I can’t imagine anymore what it’s like not to. For me, having this larger context within which to place my life gives me a firm foundation. I don’t always feel happy, and don’t always see with the right perspective, but, as you say, this foundation is a blessing.
        It’s been such an involving week thinking about these topics- thanks for helping to make the picture clearer.

  2. Fabulous again, Zoe, you seem so often to hit the nail upon the head. Your feeling that a divine being might get pleasure from our creations rings true, for me at least. If we follow Ted Hughes and see the divine as an an engineer, a creator, in macrocosm, surely our acts are the microcosm- the creative end of his beginning?

    This really is becoming one of my favourite sites. Your questioning and questing spark new thoughts and ideas every day. Thanks so much.

    • One of your favourite sites? Really? Wow. Thanks!
      Both you and V talk of our creativity being an extension of the Creator/ours as the creative end of his beginning. Hmmmm…. I never thought of it like that. This puts our thoughts and actions into a much larger context. I like it. I’ll be thinking about that for a while.

  3. V

    Hey Zoe!

    Great song and video. I love it …who cares if you disagree…. nice

    If I dare say what God finds pleasure in, would be absolutely to be who we were created to be! To pursue the passion within us that he put there the moment we were thought of.

    I think the Creator is pleased when His creation creates. I mean, we are made in His image, and if he is the Divine Creator, surely we are an extension of that creativity and thus flows through us as well. A dog was created with all that makes her a dog, she cannot be anything else but a dog and it is preposterous for anything or anyone to wish differently; ridiculous to desire the dog to be anything other than a dog.

Leave a Reply

