Art as Transformation

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
Healing through Creativity

There is some pain that words cannot express- a crash that robs a six-year old of his parents, a child diagnosed with leukemia, years of struggle with mood. No words can console, no words can erase.

For healing to occur, pain must gently be released from the inner soul where it has taken residence. Only then can losses be grieved and solace be sought.

Sometimes creating art can be used to free deeply buried emotions. Images become metaphors for feelings, and symbols represent traumatic events. Colour and shape become the visual voices for re-experiencing profound pain in a way that helps transform terror and despair into healing and hope.

Slowly, over time, and with guidance, images and symbols can be transformed to tell a new story, one beyond the pain, one that includes a renewed passion for life.

Do we make room in our lives for symbolic expression of that which words cannot express?

  _______________________________________

Today’s 4 Minute Writer      

Lionfish

No predators, lots of prey. Suspended in my element, free from gravity, marking time by the gentle ebb and flow of sunlight and darkness, rhythmically waving delicate fins through invisible resistance yielding to my touch.

                                                                          Effortless.

Image Source

Use the comment field to suggest a topic, submit your writing on today’s 4 Minute Writer topic (Lionfish) or to comment.

 
3 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

3 responses to “Art as Transformation

  1. Great post! I think you are correct in your statement that “pain must gently be released from the inner soul where it has taken residence”. Pain as it is released brings healing. Grief expressed steadily over time is beneficial. I agree with everything you said in this post. Expressing pain through creativity is probably what every artist unknowingly has done throughout the ages, including writers. The sad part is that not every one expressing pain through creativity receives complete healing. There are deterrents to healing, intruders into our quest for peace and wellness. Exodus 15:26 of the Bible says “I am the LORD that healeth thee.” The Great Physician is our God, and I think He has a part in all healing of heart, mind, soul, and body. God is good. Thank you for your insightful words. Blessings to you…

  2. Oh, it’s the making time, Zoe: I have lots of symbolic expression but sometimes it seems to rush from my subconscious to the outside world without reflection.

    Time to make time, I think:-)

    • I, too, would love to have the time to play around more with concepts roaming around in my head. But to do that to the extent I would need, I’d have to quit my job, cut out sleep, remove myself from the rest of humanity. Not very practical, I’m afraid, and not something I’d be willing to do. I guess we’ll have to make do with what is…

Leave a Reply

