A Moment of Self-Reflection

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
To what end?

Allow me a moment of reckless self-reflection as I consider the ‘to what end?’ of this blog.
I have taken a few minutes (should I say 4 minutes to make it more poetic?) to review the main point of each Notes on Creativity entry so far. I looked for patterns on this exploration of creativity and journey to cultivate more of it in my life. And it seems that I am at a crux.
The search is leading me to experience life at a level just a few inches off the ground. I now look increasingly for that hint of the Other World in the ordinary, and try to infuse the small things in my life with tiny nuggets of the best of who I am. And this, I suddenly realize, is just it- the search is leading me, and not the other way around. This is not at all what I had intended when I set out on this adventure.
And so, I cannot answer to what end the search captured in this blog will lead. I must merely make room, and follow where the Wild Goose takes me.
Do come along for the ride. 
Image source 

_______________________________________

Today’s 4 Minute Writer  

Rapids

Tumbling, turning, twisting. Grasping, careening. I close my eyes now, hours later, and can still feel the rhythm of the waves- paddle, crest, crash, eject. There goes one person, and another. Move quickly, perform the rescue, and head off to the next rapid.

All the while, the solid living walls line our journey down the river. They are alive with coiled boas, squirrel monkeys, iguanas, and kingfishers. This is a National Geographic moment.

We are small in the raft at the bottom of the canyon, moved along by rushing waters. The splashing droplets refresh us, the warming sun gives us comfort. 

 Image source

Use the comment field to suggest a topic or to comment.

10 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

10 responses to “A Moment of Self-Reflection

  1. Whatever the purpose of your blog, I am enjoying it.

    I’ve never been water rafting, and I’m not really sorry. I don’t care for roller coasters, either. They are too scary for me. Water rafting (Do I have the correct term?) seems more terrifying than a roller coaster ride. Life is like water rafting at times, less predictable than a roller coaster ride. Blessings to you…

    • Thanks, Carol Ann.
      I went on a midway ride for the first time in years a few months ago. I had forgotten what that head-spinning, pit of the stomach feeling was like. At first I thought I was going to throw up. I kept thinking about how I was too old for this. Then I realized that I kinda liked it. And that’s when the fun began!
      Different seasons of life- sometimes different weeks!- can be more like white water rafting than others. A calm canoe ride can be ever so nice too…

  2. I have noticed the focus of the blog, it is ingenious, so whoever is doing the leading they sure know what they are doing. This blog makes me feel humble, the questions it asks, and it’s quite difficult to make me feel humble, I have a very large and healthy ego indeed.

    How exciting when one’s subconscious grabs the rudder!

    • Thanks Kate.
      A large and healthy ego makes for the courage to dive into adventures in life- and tell well-spun stories as you do.
      Looking forward to seeing your experiments with the face of your blog.

  3. V

    And the plot thickens ………….

Leave a Reply

