An Integrated Life

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
A Different Perspective

I’m the kind of person who keeps the peas separate from the carrots on my plate; I take apart layers of chocolate bars so I can savour each taste independently.

It’s as common sense as separating laundry.

But, I had a conversation today which made me reconsider the extent to which I compartmentalize the details of my life.

Over coffee, we discussed how full people’s lives are these days. There are multiple demands pulling us in a myriad of directions. Even getting together with friends can be a challenge as schedules need to be coordinated for weeks ahead at times.

And yet, if we just integrate our lives a bit more, wouldn’t things be easier?

If I have to go grocery shopping, and my friend does too, why not tie the errands we have to run anyway with spending time together?

If I’ve been meaning to work out but just can’t find the time, why not do it on a lunch break I have anyway, rather than trying to make extra time?

If I have to make supper and want to get more involved in my community, why not join a community kitchen group where we cook together and share enough food for the week?

Even mixing laundry has its perks. I accidentally washed one of The Wise One in the House’s white socks with his load of darks once. He ended up with a light blue sock to match the white one left behind. He made the rule that I never do his laundry again.

I can live with that… 

*          *          *    

The theme for this week is about finding one different perspective on something in my life every day.

Image source:
http://www.chekyang.com
_______________________________________

Today’s 4 Minute Writer  

Revolution

Revolution- a radical departure from what is to a bold new future, right or wrong, for better or for worse.

A healthy dose of idealism accompanies any successful movement.

Disillusionment is the sum total of all failed revolutions, marked by the wounded left to put the pieces of their lives back together.

Revolutionizing my state of being- that’s the revolution I want to be involved in.  

Image source:
http://www.prague-life.com

Use the comment field to suggest a topic or to comment

11 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

11 responses to “An Integrated Life

  1. That made me laugh out loud. I think I’ll try that myself.

    • It worked for me- and that wasn’t even my intention. Hmmm…. what else can I apply that strategy to…

      • Yes, the wheels are turning in my head…what tasks could be transferred to my husband in this way? Brilliant! (I like the grocery shopping together idea, too!)

      • Don’t forget the “Oh no! I’m SO sorry!”

        It’s interesting how people find it so easy to spend time ‘together’ online but not in person these days. In person takes more time, and online is quick and instant. The way our society has gone…

  2. That IS a fresh perspective, Zoe. About a year ago we had a family calamity and as a result my sister came to live, with her family, just down the road. Often we share a task: making cakes, sitting the five children down for dinner or tea, looking after a sick child. We never saw each other before. Now we are very close, and a lot of what we do is combined with the tasks of running two households. It works so well.

    Phil does his own laundry too….same reason….

    • That’s how it was in ‘the olden days’, wasn’t it? People needed each other so pooled their resourcees, spent time helping each other. Now in places where we have what we need, we don’t bother with others to the same extent. Yet, happily, somewhere- like in the woods in Englan- there are still pockets of this culture of community.

      “Phil does his own laundry too….same reason….” Is that why the pile of laundry keeps growing?

  3. I like your compartmentalizing food on your plate. My son used to to this. He didn’t want one food to touch the other. I don’t get upset if things touch one another on my plate, but I don’t purposefully mingle them. My husband actually piles his foods on top of other portions. It drives me crazy just to look at it. He likes it that way. I try to analyze what this means. It baffles me. Blessings to you, Zoe…

    • I’m sure google has a theory on food habits and what they mean. If I were to guess, I’d say that people who like mixing their food together are easy-going. People who like to keep their foods separate can be a bit particular and perhaps a bit stubborn. Does this fit?
      Wait, let me go back and read what I just wrote about myself in this comment. Am I a bit particular? Well, I can be at times… A bit stubborn? What do you mean just a bit??!!

      • I won’t judge you by the food on your plate. Ha! But I have to tell you that my husband is very easy going. And he has his stubborn moments. Conclusion: Your analysis has merit.

        Happy Thanksgiving blessings to you…

  4. V

    I think integrating life together IS what living in community is all about. Kudos!

    Though it is easier to do when you do have the proximity of friends like Kate mentioned.

    • It’s a wonder that in most neighbourhoods in N. America – I imagine- people don’t live in community, though they live in proximity. Maybe the solution is to round up a number of friends and move into the same community. I know a family that did this- bought a place, and every time a home in the neighbourhood came up for sale or rent, they encouraged their friends to move in. I think they have 4 households within walking distance now, and they live in community with each other.They also get to know the other neighbours. A great way for their kids to grow up.

Leave a Reply

