Look Deep Into My Eyes

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
A Different Perspective

Every day I walk by a photograph on the wall of an owl. Sometimes I look at the owl, sometimes I don’t. Today when I walked by, that owl was looking at me. Seriously- I could feel it. And so, I stared back. Our eyes locked. I sensed that he could see into me, what was going on deep inside.

The moment stirred within me a longing to see into others the way that owl saw into me. And so, as there’s no time like the present, I spent the day looking- really looking- into eyes that met mine, exploring the stories they told me.

At the deli, the server’s eyes revealed to me that he was all about partying- full on. I felt the weight of that, knowing he needed so much more out of life.

The dim eyes of the 85 year old lady I spoke with recounted that she was tired of not being given a choice- of having her schedule determined by nurses, her meals served to her without consideration of her preferences. It saddened me that we treat her as a task to be managed rather than as an individual with wishes to be respected.

A fellow shopper’s eyes showed me the great talents their owner possessed, waiting for the opportunity to manifest. I wished for him a chance to shine.

I don’t know if these stories are true- they are just what I saw in those eyes. But it gave me a chance to realize how much can pass between two people whose eyes lock for just an instant.

“The eyes are the window to the soul.”

*          *          *    

The theme for this week is about finding one different perspective on something in my life every day.

Image source:
http://www.worldofbirds.org.za/
_______________________________________

Today’s 4 Minute Writer  

Your Chocolate Brown Eyes

Waving good bye for the last time before you disappeared as the train mounted speed.

Your chocolate brown eyes burning their image into my mind, ready to look back at me whenever I closed my eyes.

That would be the only way I’d ever see them again, and they’d never look quite right in my imagination.

It always ended up looking like one was a lazy eye drifting off to the right as I tried to get your attention…

Image source:
http://sketchfu.com/drawing/1797868-brown-eyes

Use the comment field to suggest a topic or to comment.

8 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

8 responses to “Look Deep Into My Eyes

  1. I really enjoyed reading ‘Look Deep into My Eyes’ and thinking about what you’ve said. We don’t often do this, perhaps to shy away from intimacy or perhaps for cultural reasons – I find it strange that in one western culture it’s considered rude not to look into the eyes of the person you are speaking with and in another western culture, it’s considered rude to look into someone’s eyes the whole time they are speaking. Anyhow, again you provide much food for thought and an inspirational perspective. I also enjoyed the image of the “lazy eye drifting off”. %-)

    • The lazy eye drifting off- you never know what’s going to come out when you free write 🙂 It is interesting to consider how different cultures have different ‘rules’ around how much eye contact is appropriate.
      I find that most of the time I don’t pay attention to eye contact. If I think about it, though, when I’m in a deep conversation, my eye contact is intense. Yet, it’s not really about the other person, rather their face is a place for my eyes to focus as the wheels in my brain keep turning. Looking into someone’s eyes in an attempt to really see them was definitely a conscious effort for me. So interesting…
      Thanks for the dialogue on this.

  2. “The eyes are the window to the soul.” I think this is true. Some are willing to lock eyes, trusting the one looking, while others will look away startled, uncomfortable. I picture the elderly woman, so needy that she couldn’t look away. Your kind gaze, I imagine, arousing her longing for relationship, if only that of a moment’s glance. I believe you left her a blessing that may have been the highlight of her day. Blessings to you, Zoe…

    • Sometimes a moment’s glance is all we have to hang onto in the midst of hardship. It’s easy to miss the significance of such a moment if we’re not watching for it.
      Thanks for your comment.

  3. Great post, Zoe. My cat has owl’s eyes. When she wants something- and it is usually just cat food or the door open- she stares right into your soul. What a talent….

    Looking into the eyes of others is almost more accurate than listening sometimes. I’m fine, they say, and their eyes tell another story. Thanks so much for this wonderful angle on the day. I’ll be trying your approach tomorrow…

    • Let us know what you see as you try this. I’m curious as to what your experience will be. Thanks for jumping into the experiment.
      It is amazing that when we hone the skill of really seeing, the world is suddenly an entirely different place and our interactions are transformed.

  4. The owl has had a great deal of significance for me for a long time – as far back as I can remember. For some reason, however, when I saw the photo on this post the name of a lovely book, and one of my favorites, came to mind. It’s called “I Heard the Owl Call My Name,” by Margaret Craven. It was written back in 1980, I believe. I also think a rather inferior TV movie was made of it back around then. I suggest the book to you – not because the subject matter of the book applies to your post, but the other way around. Deep introspection is so important, not only for ourselves, but also for our interpersonal relationships. Thanks for the thought provocation! I think I’ll reread the book!

    • Thanks for the book recommendation. I googled the title- this looks like a profound book. From the short synopsis I read, it seems that the characters learn deep insights from each other. If this really is in the book, I think it’s an important point. Relationships are not one way, we are all mutual givers and receivers.

Leave a Reply

