adventure vs. Adventure

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
Creating Adventures
 

The themes over the last couple of weeks have been about moving concepts discussed in previous weeks into ‘real life’. Last week centred on looking at things from a new perspective, and this week on exploring (or imagining) an adventure each day.

This week’s theme has been the most challenging since the start of the blog. I got hung up on the word ‘Adventure’. It got me thinking of the disctinction between lower-case ‘a’ adventure, and capital ‘A’ Adventure.

In my day-to-day, I can work on creating adventures by doing small things like talking to new people, going to a different part of the city, changing an aspect of my behaviour. These all require little time and effort. The results can include a heightened awareness of my surroundings, and a greater openness to new things.

But I wonder if there is a moment when the law of diminishing returns kicks in- going on lower-case ‘a’ adventures generates smaller and smaller results. The novelty wears off. Is that the moment to explore a capital ‘A’ Adventure? Have I arrived at that moment?

It begs the question- what is the content of that capital ‘A’ Adventure? In my books, it must be something completely different from my day-to-day, significant (another word requiring further definition), for my good and the good of others, and a whole heck of a lot of fun.

So to close the week, my adventure of the day is to close my eyes and let my mind wander in a thousand directions to dream up possible Adventures. Perhaps I will land on one to pursue.

Image source

_______________________________________

Today’s 4 Minute Writer  

Clinging So Tightly

“I always clung so tightly, but to what I could not say.”

She is particular- things have to be just so- the distance between place settings, the fold in the napkins, arrangement of the centrepiece. Guests are coming. If things aren’t perfect, what will they think?

Her social circle is small. Not many meet the standard. Those who do need to be kept within their own tidy box- one never coming in contact with the other. Life is easier that way. Manageable.

Enter children. Three of them. They, also, must be controlled, taught exactly how to behave, where exactly to place things. No room for error.

What will happen when they grow into the ability to enact their own choices and cast off the borders that have been drawn for them? Will she cling so tightly as to break the bonds, or will she learn to let them go?

Image source

Use the comment field to suggest a topic or to comment.

14 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

14 responses to “adventure vs. Adventure

  1. For this old Doc , one secret to life has been for art to make an Adventure out of the routine. When you write a thoughtful post like that with “Cling Wrap” as the prompt, you have done the same. Very nice.

    Hey, we held ours as close as we could, and they came out fine.

    Dr. B

  2. I tell my kids “We are going on an adventure!” when we have to do something out of the ordinary. It help us all frame the task in a positive light, and make it fun. But I think the big “A” Adventures are important to keep us truly energized. I love Today’s 4 Minute Writer. I hope she (and I) learns to let go.

  3. What a fascinating question at the end of “Clinging So Tightly”. She seems to be clinging obsessively, which diminishes the likelihood that she will ever quit. Yet, if she doesn’t, she could forever damage her relationship with her children. Oh, we could analyze it unendingly, never fathoming every aspect of it, certainly not the possibility of the grace of God entering into the picture. With God, all things are possible. Life is a delightful puzzle.

    I can’t wait to hear about your Adventure. May it be a blessing to you and those involved.

    • Not sure if you know that tv show Supernanny. I haven’t seen very much of it, but from the bit I’ve seen, Supernanny transforms any type of struggling parents into skilled, well-balanced ones in a very short period of time. Is that realistic? I don’t know. But maybe there’s hope for the Clinging So Tightly lady- Supernanny to the rescue!

  4. A friend of mine once asked me “When was the last time you did something for the first time?” Those are the things that would be an Adventure in my world. You have inspired me to have one this week – not sure yet what it will be.

  5. I think, Zoe, that you were born for adventure. You have the heart and soul of an explorer 🙂
    When I met Phil my adventures seemed to kick off in earnest. I think it was because I discovered a like mind, who had already mastered the art of the unexpected. Just when I thought things were about to calm down he would do something, or propose something different, and we would be off on a new tack. And in nearly 20 years that has never changed. I think adventures stem from the unexpected.

    • “The art of the unexpected”- I like that. Spontaneity. What a fun pair you must be. Lovely that you’ve kept that going for 20 years.
      I think I just get to the point where the same-old same-old is no longer an option and I look for a new experience. Keeping my eyes open…

  6. Excellent distinction between everyday adventures and capital “A” Adventures. A few of our capital “A” Adventures: Windjamming off the coast of Maine, Hot Air Balloon Ride over Palm Springs, taking a Helicopter Ride over the Badlands, and moving to Florida BEFORE selling our house.

    The clipped sentences you used in Clinging So Tightly are perfect: “Guests are coming.” “Enter children. Three of them.”

    • Now THOSE are capital ‘A’ Adventures! I’ve wanted to go hot air ballooning for a long time- even got up at far too early in the morning on several occasions to secure a spot, but the conditions weren’t right. So I went back to sleeping in. This is one I may try for again when the weather is warmer- glad you reminded me of it.
      Reading your posts I can see you have woven the theme of Adventure and adventure into your life.

  7. I know a few of the ‘Clinging So Tightly’ types and invariably their children have scattered at the first opportunity.

    • Sad, really. I think the ‘Clinging So Tightly’ types mean well and love their children very much, but it’s hard for them to risk letting go of their children. There is something to “If you love someone set them free” and they will come back to you.

Leave a Reply

