Bazinga

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
Creating Personalities

 

I hardly ever watch tv (why watch when you can blog?) but when I do, “The Big Bang Theory” is my show of choice. Of all the fabulous characters, my favourite is Sheldon Cooper, the endearing, comic book loving, geeky, socially oblivious germophobe genius.

Today, instead of watching him on a screen, I decided to watch him from the inside, choosing a few moments to try to experience life from his point of view.

The location had to be right to bring out the Sheldoness in me, so naturally, I placed myself in the heart of Sheldendom- a comic book store. You have to understand, this was way out of my comfort zone. The only way to pull it off was to turn into Sheldon.

I headed straight for the comic bin. “Got it, got it, got it, need it, got it, need it…”. I began to take pride in how many “Got it”s I came up with and started believing that I actually had an extensive comic book collection.

“Can I help you?” asked the owner.

“Yes,” I answered, impatient to have to speak to another human being. “Where are  your Green Lantern collectibles?” (As if I even knew what I was asking for!)

The lady showed me all kinds of things: part 2 of a multi-part Green Lantern statue (collect all three and you get a bonus Alan Scott figure), a Green Lantern Ring Prop Replica which included the rare Death Ring, a fabric poster… And then, the Holy Grail- behind the counter, up on the highest shelf, was a Green Lantern neon sign you could display in a window. It would herald to all the other comic geeks that a fellow knower of superhero lore lives in this place, and would leave the non-initiated oblivious to the elite status of the dweller. I had to have it. I reached for my credit card.

Pulling it out, my eyes fell to the name on the card and I remembered that I have no clue what the Green Lantern is and that I have no elite status. The boyhood excitement of Sheldon Cooper left me.

I returned, feeling guilty for wasting the store owner’s time. As penance, I bought an action figure of some character that was on sale. I’ll probably give it to one of those children’s charity drives. I hope it brings some kid a moment of boyhood excitement like I experienced today.

Image source

_______________________________________

 

Today’s 4 Minute Writer  

Creating Smiles Update

Just an update on how the week is going putting the Creating Smiles project into practice:

The action I was given today was to contact someone I hadn’t talked with in a while.

I emailed a semi-long-lost friend I haven’t spoken with in a few months: “How are you? What’s new? You ready for Christmas?”

She emailed back a short while later saying she was just thinking of emailing me. She attached a message sent three hours previously by our mutual friend who suggested that the three of us get together this weekend. How do you like that!

Image source

Use the comment field to suggest a topic or to comment.

16 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

16 responses to “Bazinga

  1. I would have worried about you if you had taken that last step and hit your credit card with the joys of Sheldon Cooper. Ah! Indeed, you were still Zoe at heart. What an interesting way to walk in another’s shoes!

    The email idea bore fruit! How nice for you and your friends. Blessings to you…

    • I think The Wise One in the House would also have taken exception to the purchase (those things aren’t cheap!)- or he may have seen it as a license to purchase his own frivolous items. Either way I agree with you, I’m glad I came to my senses.

  2. The idea of walking a mile in an other’s shoes–even if they are day-glow sneakers with LED lights that sparkle when you take a step–is one of the finest ways I know for a writer to really get into the head of a character in a story. Allowing yourself to become so immersed that you found yourself (almost) moved to make a serious purchase says–to me at least–that you managed it right and proper.
    Good post.

  3. Serendipity, that, Zoe 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful meeting this weekend…

  4. Big Bang Theory is such a hoot . . . especially “Sheldon Cooper, the endearing, comic book loving, geeky, socially oblivious germophobe genius.”

    I sometimes play at being characters too . . . Scrooge (before his reformation), the Grinch (before his heart grew two sizes), and Mary Poppins (“practically perfect in every way).

    When our minds meld with our imagination . . . it’s magic.

  5. Lol, The old i shouldn’t be here feeling.
    Plagues teenage years like a sore rash

  6. What a great way to get out of your comfort zone. Worth the price of an action figure, for sure.

  7. Brilliant. I am just spending some time in the company of a few episodes of The Big Bang Theory because of my work, and am too adore Sheldon Cooper.
    I applaud you for doing this!

Leave a Reply

