The Journey

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
Contrast

 

I sit down to write. I have an uplifting theme in mind, and am eager to explore it through the writing process. I immerse myself in the words spilling onto the keyboard and am drawn into a world apart. The words take me with them through breathtaking views and minefields of danger.

I put the last period in place and go back to read through the journey. I discover that what I set out to write is nowhere to be found. An uplifting piece has turned into a brooding one. The contrast is staggering.

I ask myself what happened and ponder my subconscious, the memes I have encountered of late, and recency effects. It’s all so easy to explain.

And yet, it’s not.

In those moments of being immersed, I know that I am not alone. There is Someone flying ahead of me, and I am merely following. The journey is soul-satisfying when I follow well, and the end result is often unexpected. It’s when I  get tangled in the weeds of morbid introspection, or get sucked down a vortex of self-defeating logic that the bond is severed and what I write no longer carries its satisfying flavour.

I suppose there is still value to be redeemed from the journeys gone wrong. They keep me humble and remind me that mine is to follow, and that the One whom I follow satisfies the soul.

Image Source

_______________________________________

 

Today’s 4 Minute Writer  

The Journey of a Lifetime

This was it, the journey of a lifetime, the “it” he had been dreaming of all his life. He’d jumped through all the hoops- twelve years of grade school, four years of university, another two years of grad school, thirty-two years of working for the man to support his wife and three kids. Now, it was his turn.

He stood in the airline check-in counter and chatted with the attendant about his round-the-world ticket and his excitement to see the pyramids of Egypt, the Great Barrier Reef, the lions of the Serengeti. She smiled, checked in his baggage, and directed him to the security line.

All his life he had waited for this moment, this moment that would end far sooner than he expected with a heart attack at 35,000 feet.

What are you waiting for?

Image source

Use the comment field to suggest a topic or to comment.

19 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

19 responses to “The Journey

  1. This is such a familiar journey, Zoe. Writing for that One you speak of requires such careful listening .Who was it said: “laugh, and the world laughs with you: cry, and you cry alone”? This may sound maudlin but if we are in the business of motivating and entertaining others to explore their lives and the infinite possibilities they hold- we need to hold their perspective up there in front of us as we write, take a positive stance of joyful exploration, and listen, listen, listen.

    Course I can’t do it yet….but I’m working on it 😀

    • Your words challenge me: “if we are in the business of motivating and entertaining others to explore their lives and the infinite possibilities they hold.”
      Do I write for myself or for others? I’d say for myself and for the connection with Someone. But then again, why do I post so others can read what I write- is it for the benefit of the readers, so they, as you say, can explore their lives and the possibilities? I’m not sure I can honestly say yes, but I wish I could.

      • That is THE question…do we write for ourselves or for others? If I dig deep into my heart, I know that when I write it is for me. If it resonates with someone else, that is a blessing.

  2. Ah, yes, we must enjoy the journey because we have no promise of tomorrow. Yet one may not enjoy the journey if enjoyment means having things and doing things. We must learn to enjoy what we have. Then we will have what we enjoy.

    I like the last paragraph of your first part of this post: “I suppose there is still value to be redeemed from the journeys gone wrong. They keep me humble and remind me that mine is to follow, and that the One whom I follow satisfies the soul.”

    I also really like both photos, each illustrating its respective text very well. Blessings to you, Zoe…

    • Perhaps contentment comes more easily to some than to others. It is a blessing to enjoy what you have and not pine for greener grass. This should be balanced with having something new on the horizon to look forward to.

  3. “Let your mind start a journey through a strange new world. Leave all thoughts of the world you knew before. Let your soul take you where you long to be.”
    Erich Fromm

  4. I love falling into the flow and seeing where things lead ~ there is delight in the unexpected corners of our minds.

    As for the 2nd post, I’ve now got “Isn’t it ironic?” playing in my head.

    Seize the day!

  5. I definitely believe that there is potential in the writings that don’t quite go as planned. They can form the base for something else, or they can be things that simply needed to be written.
    Not, of course, that it isn’t sometimes frustrating to be left with what you didn’t intend to write.

  6. I always think I should be able to control my writing journey better. There are times when I follow it, and it just works. And then there are those other times, when I struggle and the writing struggles, too. It is good to think of both of those as learning opportunities that further me on my journey as a writer.

    • I find that writing a full piece first and then going back and editing to be the best approach for me most of the time. When I get trapped in editing as I write and pouring over every word, making sure it’s taking the piece where I want it to go writing becomes a painful experience.

  7. I think sometimes we are meant to lead and sometimes we are meant to follow.
    One thing i do find important is that it is not a race.
    Excellent write up, enjoyed reading your thoughts

    • Perhaps that’s one reason why writing can be so enjoyable- in this world of races and rushes, taking the time to go on a journey which unfolds at its own pace is such an appreciated contrast.

  8. Chloe

    Hi Zoe

    I enjoyed reading this. It reminded me that we need to be living NOW…and striving to make the most of life NOW…because we never know when life will end for us…and as such we should not postpone our hopes and dreams until tomorrow.

    As for writing, sometimes it’s best to put your words away and read them again after a slight cooling off period…that way you can look at them again with fresh eyes and any mood/emotions you were caught up with on the day of writing might have evaporated etc.

    • Your wisdom is especially important these days with writing on the internet- once it’s out there, we can’t really take it back.
      Amazing the speed and volume of words that come out of us when we are emotionally charged. Knowing when not to seek an audience for these words is wise.

Leave a Reply

