Hidden Talents

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
Creating Adventures

I couldn’t live in a small town- I’d get tired of the same old faces and no new perspectives to explore.

I have a theory that in each new person I meet, there is the potential to glean a nugget of wisdom. So today, I went in search of a new nugget.

The opportunity came over lunch when I went to a deli I hadn’t been to before and ordered a fava bean salad- another first for me.

I noticed a couple of origami pieces casually displayed on the counter. They were no ordinary pieces- one was a cockroach with its various body parts precisely textured- corrugated legs, a shiny shell, and flat belly. Another was a unicorn with intricately sculpted muscles and a wind-blown mane. The artistry was incredible- and all made of simple paper.

The deli guy told me he had met a lady from South America who created origami designs. She personally taught him this art and he had taken it on obsessively.  He told me of the time it took to learn each piece, and how much work was required. There were projects he got involved in and people he met because of this passion he’d found. I was drawn into a world of richness amid the ordinary.

The line up grew and I took my hint from the glaring eyes behind me. I bid the deli guy goodbye and took with me my fava bean salad and a nugget of wisdom: you never know the hidden talents of those you encounter until you take the time to find out who they are. The deli guy who serves you may double as an artiste.

Image source
_______________________________________

Today’s 4 Minute Writer  

The Chair

It sits there, as if it has a life of its own. I keep thinking it’s going to move, start morfing into a creature with four legs and two arms, ready to take on the world.

But it doesn’t go beyond just sitting there.

If it could talk, what tales would that chair tell of the asses that had sat upon it? Wide ones that bounced jovially as their owners told stories of buffoonery; skinny ones of girls who just wanted to be noticed; cold ones of old men too worn out to go anywhere except from home, to the pub, and back.

Ah, the stories that chair would tell…

Use the comment field to suggest a topic or to comment.

12 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

12 responses to “Hidden Talents

  1. Brilliant! And I love the chair too…
    I’ve always wanted to learn origami. Maybe the dead of winter is just the time to learn….

    • I went through an origami phase years ago. I think there are still cranes, frogs, and a few flowers kicking around from that era. And some pretty paper. That’s my favourite- beautifully coloured and textured paper.

  2. Yeah, sometines I think my talents are well hidden too, but I keep searching for ’em.

    Dr. B

  3. Love the commonality between your theme and my last post: Exploring Mind Caves for Hidden Gems. 😉

    Small town, or large city, there are always more “hidden gems” to discover.

  4. How interesting! I wish I could have seen the cockroach origami piece. I wonder what possessed the deli guy to produce it. I once read a book about cockroaches. They have been on the earth probably forever. They endure. Maybe he educated himself about these rugged creatures and became fascinated by them.

    The chair really looks like it could get up and do a dance, doesn’t it? It has personality.

    Blessings to you, Zoe…

    • I wish I would have had my camera with me so I could have posted a photo of these masterpieces.
      Cockroaches aren’t given enough credit for their good points, so I’m glad you brought them up. There’s something about them being able to survive a nuclear fall out too. Long live the cockroach!

  5. ha, ha Zoë, your insights never cease to delight. Nice change of scenery on your blog pic, too 🙂

  6. Chloe

    I think, if you don’t mind, I’ll make it my goal now to gain “a nugget of wisdom” each and every day 😀 Thank you my friend – your blog always cheers me up xx

Leave a Reply

