Practical Creativity

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
The Creative Process

What do you get when you allow employees paid time to work on projects they themselves come up with? Sometimes nothing of permanence, but sometimes you get products like 3M’s Post-It Notes, or new services like Gmail and AdSense. That’s right, these were all invented by employees who said “I wonder what would happen if we tried this…” and then let their imaginations run wild. 

Companies that support this sort of ‘pet project’ work demonstrate a strong understanding of the creative process. They know that employees need unstructured spaces in which to explore their own areas of interest within the context of their work.

A world of possibility opens when companies let go and make room for the creative process.

 _______________________________________

Today’s 4 Minute Writer

Bookworm

Buried under a pile of books in his office, he takes no notice of the students shuffling by. They talk of their plans for the weekend, upcoming exams, and latest celebrity gossip.

He is engrossed in the world of psychoanalytic theory, dream interpretation, and the influence of the subconscious. Hours pass as he moves from page to page, book to book, jotting down notes in small scribbles.

He takes no notice when the lights in the hallway turn off and doors slam shut for the night. He is lost in the thoughts his reading evokes, absorbing each nuance and phrase.

As the unread pile gets smaller and smaller, his eyes grow heavier and heavier. He rests his head on the desk, slowly succumbing to the world of his books, allowing his subconscious to take over.  

Image source

Use the comment field to suggest a topic, submit your writing on today’s 4 Minute Writer topic (Bookworm) or to comment.

4 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

4 responses to “Practical Creativity

  1. I love this Zoe, because this is me. I never get paid for the really creative stuff I do, and no-one really takes much notice these days because I don’t have the power I once had. But the lights turning off outside the office? That’s me….I get utterly obsessed with something, and work it to its conclusion. It is the most exciting end of creativity.

    Thanks for such wise words.

    • Glad this post struck a chord with you- that’s the best compliment a blogger can get!
      I know what you mean by getting utterly obsessed- I’ll stay up the whole night sometimes if I’m completely engrossed in a book, or surfing the web on some topic I just have to figure out. It’s amazing, too, how energizing working something to its conclusion like that can be.

  2. I think it’s inspiring for companies to allow for creative time and they’ve certainly reaped the rewards as well. In addition, I would also think the employees are much happier, resulting in greater productivity and less turnover as well. I hope more companies choose to follow suit!

    • I agree. Corporate culture plays a big part in this as well- some companies are much more open to trying new ways of doing business and others not as much. I know who I’d rather work for!

Leave a Reply

