A World of Colour

Notes on Creativity theme of the week:
A Different Perspective

Sometimes as I go about my day, my senses are suddenly heightened to a particular aspect of my environment. Today it happened as I went to dip a piece of bread in a mixture of balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

I froze in the moment before dipping the bread. The strong contrast in colour between the bright yellow of the oil and the darkest of purples suspended within it caught me. 

I felt the vibrancy of the yellow and the depth of the purple. I was drawn into an altered perception of something so simple as bread dip.

And so, the day became about colour. I decided to take in the world around me primarily through colour, and leave the tasks and interpersonal dynamics in the background of my mind- the opposite of my usual.

Colours seemed to leap toward me- echoes of green in clothing, carpeting, and furniture standing at attention all at once.

I noticed how constantly vibrant the world around me is, with the tiniest specs of colour lighting up around me.

The next time I get caught up in tasks and dynamics, I hope I remember to switch lenses and see the world around me from a different point of view.

*          *          *    

The theme for this week is about finding one different perspective on something in my life every day.

Image source:
http://www.chekyang.com
_______________________________________

Today’s 4 Minute Writer  

501

501 places to go
501 verbs to conjugate
501 recipes
501 world’s funniest jokes

What’s with the ‘501’ series of books that give you so many options? What if I only want one recipe and only one verb?

Let’s say I’m trying to simplify my life, not get muddled with so many choices. How are those books going to help me then?

Or, let’s say I believe in saying what I mean, being direct, making my point clear. “I’m sorry” means “I’m sorry.” Why do I have to try to say it without saying it 501 different ways? Why not just say it?

I want to write a book someday. I’ll call it ‘One Thing’. And it’ll be just about one thing. All one page of it.

Image source:
http://catchycolors.blogspot.com/

Use the comment field to suggest a topic or to comment

12 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

12 responses to “A World of Colour

  1. I was briefly reminded of “Walt Disney’s Wonderful World of Color,” the TV program that started back in the early 60’s at the dawn of color TV. I could hardly wait to see the program on a color TV, because I wanted to see that NBC Peacock spread his tail! Color changes everything, as your wonderful post reminds us, and I thank you for that gentle reminder to open our eyes and really SEE, not just LOOK. Exchange the mere objective for a keener subjective. I’m not a big fan of spiders, and usually the “creepy” side of those arachnids keeps me from really seeing them. One day I managed to do a close-up photo of a “daddy long-legs” and fell in love. I was enchanted! You can see that photo here: http://picasaweb.google.com/100044808499096457756/DropBox?locked=true&pli=1&gsessionid=0FPSJtDHZY_9OkVgZ4f8lw#5543409061279709234

    May the many colors and all their shades and hues bless you on this Thanksgiving Day!

    • I wasn’t able to see the spider at the link, but did get to see your butterfly pictures there. Lovely!
      Yes, it is amazing that when we live with the intent of ‘seeing’ we discover how rich every moment really is- we are even able to appreciate arachnids!
      Wishing you a very happy Thanksgiving.

  2. It’s great when we get inspired by the simplest of things isn’t it

    • Thanks for coming and commenting. I stopped by your site- you are a man of many talents- and faces. Very unique dream you’ve got- an explosion of creativity from your mind into the world.

  3. Keep it simple. This is a great philosophy to apply in life. Whatever it is, narrow it down. Find the nucleus. Life’s nucleus.

    Great post. I like the color theme. Blessings to you on this Thanksgiving Day…

    • I find beauty in simplicity- the art of conveying a great deal concisely and clearly. I think of actors like Jeremy Irons who, with one slight, simple movement convey an entire internal world. You get a clear picture of what the person he’s playing is all about from that simple gesture.
      A happy Thanksgiving to you.

  4. Lovely 🙂 This is a moment I recognise keenly. I’d look at something, and have my breath taken away. You have a wonderful ability to appreciate each moment: but I simply found an almost physical pain in not being able to capture that sight and keep it. Back to CS Lewis and his joy being a stab of longing. But the lens changed all that for me. Now I can snap it and at least attempt to keep it. I don’t always succeed, but when I do it feels quite wonderful.

  5. Reading your blog is a bright colour in my day. I have particularly enjoyed the new perspectives this week. I love your comment on 501 things. Who needs that many?

    • Thanks Shawna. The ‘new perspectives’ theme of the week is the first jaunt into looking for creativity in my ‘real’ life. It seemed like the next place to go after exploring a tiny bit of what others have done. It’s an adventure, let’s see where it goes.

  6. Chloe

    I’m so glad I stumbled across your blog! I love the way you write and from what I have seen, you and I appear to have a very similar view of life – I believe it’s so important to shift lenses and notice the detail in life. See the small things. Appreciate the minutia. I like to keep life simple, even my writing, because I feel that way I can reach out to more people…not that people are simple, but just that they appreciate not having to cut through too much nonsense! 😀

    You’ve been talking recently on your blog about a different perspective…a lot of my poems are motivational/inspirational ones, so I’d love to hear your opinion on them (I’ve listed them by category under Chloe’s Poems). No worries if you don’t.

    I look forward to reading your next posts 😀 xx

    • I’ll be taking some time to visit your site- I’m looking forward to it. Poetry is something I’m learning to appreciate from my venture into the blogosphere. It’s quite a talent to be able to pack each word with richness when you have fewer to work with.

Leave a Reply

